CHAPTER EIGHT – Love me tender, bartender

Package_LoveMeTender

 

Jimmy was ready to turn off the lights and lock, when Therese stopped him. Don’t turn them all off, she said smiling. Leave a dim light and just lock.
Jimmy started to choke and stumble on just about everything. He was so clumsy and nervous it was a miracle he didn’t trash the place by accident. Therese put a coin in the jukebox and Elvis started to sing

Love me tender,
Love me sweet,
Never let me go.
You have made my life complete,
And I love you so.

She started to swing and dragged Jimmy to dance with her. Jimmy was so red and sweaty he thought he was having a stroke. But Therese didn’t stop, she pushed him against her, and sang along with Elvis in a whispering, soft and tender manner

Love me tender,
Love me true,
All my dreams fulfilled.
For my darlin I love you,
And I always will.

Jimmy was heart beating so fast, so loud, so intense Therese could feel his heart. She was in love, she knew Jimmy was too, but it was so hard for her to admit it, to overcome all these petty things we fill our heads with, in order to avoid happiness. But the truth is she was happy, happier than she could ever remember

Love me tender,
Love me long,
Take me to your heart.
For it’s there that I belong,
And we’ll never part.

The rain was falling hard on the empty streets, a light wind was shaking some sick city trees and suddenly all the world vanished into thin air, all voices stopped and only Elvis was heard in the whole universe singing

Love me tender,
Love me dear,
Tell me you are mine.
Ill be yours through all the years,
Till the end of time.

(when at last my dreams come true
Darling this I know
Happiness will follow you
Everywhere you go).

